About Us

The aims of the association are:

  • To bring a structured approach to the adjudication of drama, music and light entertainment competitions of all kinds.
  • To protect the professional interests of its members and to provide a forum for furthering the expertise of members.
  • To liaise, where appropriate, with other bodies, or persons, concerned with drama or entertainment.
  • To promote the development of amateur theatre in Ireland.

Seminars, workshops, lectures and other educational activities are organised by the association for members (who are required as a condition of membership to attend).

The ADA acts as a referral agency for festival organisers seeking qualified adjudicators and as an admissions body for aspiring adjudicators.

All enquiries should be made to the secretary:

Imelda Mc Donagh


Sea Bank


Co Wicklow

M: 353 (0)86 244 7599

E: secretaryada@gmail.com

Association Executive Committee

Honorary Patron

Marina Carr


Michael Poynor


Imelda McDonagh


Ailbhe Garvey-Hughes


Aodh McCay


Ciaran McCauley


Tony McCleane Fay

Emeritus Members

Emeritus members are long standing members of the association that have now retired from adjudication. We recognise and thank them for their huge contributions to adjudication over the course of many years

Current Emeritus Members:

Christopher Fitz-Simon

Nora Relihan

Kathleen Barrington

Pat Burke

Terry Byrne

Association Of Drama Adjudicators

Selection Of New Members

Application Process

Anyone who wishes to apply for membership should, in the first instance, write to the Secretary, who will advise on the procedure to be followed. Established adjudicators may be accepted directly, whilst those with little or no experience of professional adjudication may be offered an induction/training process depending on the experience they bring.

Test Edit